Past Lab Members

Postdoctoral Fellows

Jay A. Nelson, PhD (1980-1984), Currently: Founder & Director of the Vaccine and Gene Therapy Institute (VGTI), Oregon Health Sciences University
Gail C. Fraizer, PhD
 (1981-1983), Currently: Undergraduate Coordinator Biological Sciences and NOA-AGEP site coordinator, Kent State University
Curtis Brandt, PhD
 (1983-1986), Currently: Medical Foundation Professor, Departments Of Ophthalmology And Visual Sciences And Medical Microbiology And Immunology, University of Wisconsin
Franco Buonaguro, MD
 (1983-1986), Currently: Director, Molecular Biology & Viral Oncogenesis Unit, Natl Cancer Institute “Fond Pascale “ Napoli-Italy.
Thomas Hill, PhD
Jiliane Firzlaff, MD (1985-1988)
Pritinder Kaur, PhD  1985-1989; 2004, Currently: Curtin Health innovation Research Institute, Curtin University
Carol Krantz, PhD (1987-1989), Currently: Sr Director Regulatory Affairs, CMC at Seattle Genetic
K.V.R. Dhananjaya, PhD
N. Manjunath, MD (1988-1990)
Steven Jenison, MD (1986-1991), Currently: Retired
Xiu-ping Yu, MD
G. William Demers, PhD (1987-1994)
Leslie A. Baken, MD (1989-1990), Currently: System Epidemiologist and Infectious Disease Medical Director, North Memorial Healthcare, Robbinsdale, MN
Scott Foster, PhD
Larry Martin, PhD (1994–1998), Currently:  Global IVD Sales at NAMSA
Jo Beth Harry, PhD (1995-1997)
Thomas Grubert, MD (1996-1997)
Beth Etscheid, PhD (1990-1994), Currently: Director of Grant Programs at Washington Research Foundation
Nobuo Yaegashi, MD
Michael Hagensee, MD, PhD (1991-1996), Currently: Associate Professor, Louisiana State University Medical School
Douglas Hawkins, MD (1994–1996), Currently: Chair, Children's Oncology Group; Professor of Pediatrics, Hematology/Oncology Division, Seattle Children’s Hospital
Monica Ravanello, PhD (1994 -1996), Currently:  Manager Strategic Partnerships at University of California, San Francisco
Jens Oliver Funk, MD
 (1996-1998), Currently: Distinguished Fellow and Senior R&D Advisor, Principia Biopharma
Tohru Kiyono, MD
Tina Passalaris, MD (1996-2000), Currently: Oncologist, New York, NY
Andrew McShea, PhD
 (1997-2000), Currently:  Chief Operating Officer Probi USA
Takashi Onda, MD, PhD (1998-2000)
Farrel Buchinsky, MD (2000-2001), Currently: Associate Professor at Allegheny Clinic
Weifeng Luo, PhD (2002-2005)
Erin Egelkrout, PhD (2002-2006), Currently: Sr. Scientist, Applied Biotechnology Institute, Cal Poly Technology Park, San Luis Obispo, CA
Carla Grandori, MD, PhD
 (2003-2006), Currently: Chief Executive Officer at SEngine Precision Medicine
Michael Underbrink, MD, MBA (2005-2007), Currently: Associate Professor, Dept. of Otolaryngology, University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, Texas
Kristin Bedard, PhD
 (2005- 2008), Currently:  Vice President, Immunobiology at Sutro Biopharma, Inc. Seattle, WA
 Katzenellenbogen, MD (2003-2006), Currently: Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Indiana University
Yelena Bird, (2006-2008), Currently: Faculty Member, University of Saskatchewan, School of Public Health
John Moraros, MD
  2006-2009, Currently: Dean and Professor, Brandon University
Ruchi Garg, MD (2006-2009), Currently: Gynecologic Oncology, Obstetrics and Gynecology, INOVA
Heather Howie, PhD (2006-2010), Currently: Senior Scientist, University of Virginia
 Toyoshima, MD, PhD (2008-2010)
Nick Wallace, PhD  2008-2015, Currently: Assistant Professor at Kansas State University
Yuki Yoshimatsu, PhD (2010-2013)
Anjali Bheda-Malge, PhD (2011 – 2012)
Joerg Enssle, PhD (2011-2013)
Erin Scherer, PhD (2011-2016), Currently: Assistant Professor, Division of Infectious Diseases at Emory University; Director, Hope Clinic Research Laboratory
Qi Shi, PhD (2012)
Xiaojie (Jet) Qi  2012-2015
Sujita Khanal, PhD  (2016-2018), Currently: Postdoctoral Associate at Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute
David Skibinski, PhD, PMP (2017-2018), Currently: Staff Scientist at Benaroya Research Institute

Graduate Students

Anna-Marija Helt, PhD (1997-2002), Currently: Small business owner, Durango, CO
Lindy Gewin, PhD (1998-2004), Currently:  Biology Lab Coordinator and Instructor Lewis & Clark College, Portland, Oregon
Jennifer Benanti, PhD (1998-2003), Currently: Associate Professor, University of Massachusetts, Medical School, Worcester, MA
Johnnie Orozco, MD, PhD (1999-2004), Currently:  Assistant Professor, Clinical Research Division, Fred Hutch; Assistant Professor, Hematology University of Washington School of Medicine; Attending Physician, Seattle Cancer Care Alliance
David Burke, MS (2005-2007)
Myra Wang, PhD (2006-2010), Currently: Science & Technology Innovation Manager, Seattle, WA
Mei Xu, PhD (2005-2010), Currently:  Principal Scientist at Immusoft Corporation
Cassandra (Cassie) Abel (MD/PhD rotation student), Currently:  Currently:  Principal Scientist at Immusoft Corporation
Gerald Mbara  2013-2015, Currently: Chemistry Teacher at The Columbus School
Rachel Kinzelman  (2016-2017), Currently: PHD Student at University of Washington
Justine Levan, PHD  (2018), Currently: Indiana University School of Medicine

Undergraduates/Post Baccalaureates

Danielle Miranda  (2008)
Kevin Cahill, MD (2008-2009), Currently: Fellow in Surgical Critical Care at Christiana Care in Newark, Delaware
Mary E. Colangelo, (Summer 2009)
Caroline Fiser, (Summer 2011)
Taylor Lasof, (Summer 2012), Currently: Health Coach, San Diego, CA
Peter Lewis  (2016-2017)

Lab Technicians

Kristin Robinson 1992-2009, Currently: Lab Manager, University of Washington
Jennifer Ihle-Koop  1995-2009, Currently: Volunteer Coordinator
Joleen Weese  (2006-2009), Currently: EH&S Manager at Bristol-Myers Squibb
Portia Vliet-Gregg  2006-2009, Currently: Associate Director, Alliance and Program Management
Jacqueline Smith Silva, 2019, Currently: Studies Biomedical Science at University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
Madelyn Caban, 2019-2020, Currently: Taylor Lab, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center